There is so much hate in this world.

Why can’t we look past our differences?

Am I, a lesbian, hurting you and your straight friends? SOME people of faith have been using the age-old argument that homosexuals are the worst (THE ABSOLUTE WORST – right up there with murderers) because the Bible tells them so.

If that’s the case, then ipso effin’ facto, ladies and gents:

President Josiah Bartlet: Good. I like your show. I like how you call homosexuality an abomination.

Dr. Jenna Jacobs: I don’t say homosexuality is an abomination, Mr. President. The Bible does.

President Josiah Bartlet: Yes, it does. Leviticus.

Dr. Jenna Jacobs: 18:22.

President Josiah Bartlet: Chapter and verse. I wanted to ask you a couple of questions while I had you here. I’m interested in selling my youngest daughter into slavery as sanctioned in Exodus 21:7. She’s a Georgetown sophomore, speaks fluent Italian, always cleared the table when it was her turn. What would a good price for her be? While thinking about that, can I ask another? My Chief of Staff Leo McGarry insists on working on the Sabbath. Exodus 35:2 clearly says he should be put to death. Am I morally obligated to kill him myself, or is it okay to call the police? Here’s one that’s really important ’cause we’ve got a lot of sports fans in this town: Touching the skin of a dead pig makes one unclean. Leviticus 11:7. If they promise to wear gloves, can the Washington Redskins still play football? Can Notre Dame? Can West Point? Does the whole town really have to be together to stone my brother John for planting different crops side by side? Can I burn my mother in a small family gathering for wearing garments made from two different threads? Think about those questions, would you?

This “come to Jesus” moment is brought to you by The West Wing, S2E3 (The Midterms), which has also been the age-old response to the condemning of homosexuals. Appropriate.

 

Also, there is this guy named William Pryor (and Trump has him as one of his picks for Supreme Court) and he thinks homosexuals should be jailed for having sex. Needless to say, I do not think highly of Trump or Pryor or anyone who thinks I should be jailed. What a ridiculous thing to say. But…people are saying it, Pryor believes it. This rhetoric is not normal. Stay informed, readers (and not from just one news source).

Love trumps hate.

*I am a Methodist. I don’t speak for all Methodists. I don’t speak for all Christians. I have my own relationship with God and the Bible. I am not perfect. But I am open-minded, first and foremost. I welcome diversity. It has made me a better person to live life with arms (and mind) wide open.

